Governors

Welcome to our Governors' section. 


 

About our Governing Body

Different Types of Governors

 

  • Local Authority (LA) Governors: appointed by the Local Authority that maintains the school.
  • Co- opted Governors: appointed by the governing body to represent the community. A community governor does not need to have any previous experience or knowledge of education, nor do they need to have children.
  • Parent Governors: elected onto the governing body by other parents from the school, and are parents of children in attendance at the school.
  • Staff Governors: elected onto the governing body by staff at the school.

 

We are a group of people who work on a voluntary basis to represent those who have an interest in our school such as parents, school staff and members of the local community. This means that school decisions are made by people who have a wide range of experience and viewpoints but all have the school at the heart of their decisions.

Collectively the governing body works to raise standards of achievement for all pupils. Our main role involves providing strategic direction for the work of the school, challenging and supporting the school by acting as a critical friend, and holding the school to account for the quality of education it provides and the standards achieved. We work together with the Head Teacher, who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school.

NameContactRe-Election YearSub CommitteeBusiness InterestsFinancial InterestsGovernance Roles in Other Schools
Mr Matthew Harris

Burton Road Primary School

info@burtonrdps.org

01226 288679

PermanentPersonnel & FinanceNoneNoneNone
Mrs Stephanie Taverner-Smith - Chairs.tavernersmith@burtonrdps.org2023PersonnelNoneNoneNone

Mrs Louise Cooper

Staff

l.cooper@burtonrdps.org2024FinanceNoneNoneNone

Father Brian Bell

Community

fatherbrianbell@burtonrdps.org2023FinanceNoneNoneNone

Ian France

Co-Opted

i.france@burtonrdps.org2024FinanceNoneNoneGovernor at Silkstone Primary

Mark Ryan

Co-Opted

m.ryan@burtonrdps.org2025FinanceNoneNoneNone

Amanda Gannon

Parent

a.gannon@burtonrdps.org

Resigned

2021

PersonnelNoneNoneNone

Laura Pearson

Staff

l.pearson@burtonrdps.org2023PersonnelNoneNoneNone

Neil Johnson

Parent

n.johnson@burtonrdps.org2024FinanceNoneNoneNone

Tracy Johnson

Community

t.johnson@burtonrdps.org2025PersonnelNoneNoneNone

 

 

 

 

 

Attendance at Governors Meetings

 

Name2020/212021/22*
Matthew Harris13/13 
Stephanie Taverner-Smith8/10 
Louise Cooper11/11 
Father Brian Bell6/11 
Ian France10/11 
Mark Ryan6/10 
Amanda Gannon6/10 
Laura Pearson10/10 
Neil Johnson6/8 
Tracy Johnson1/2 
   

* This information will be updated on a termly basis